An iconic hospitality venue since 1897. Combining a range of experiences across hospitality, retail and entertainment, The Leederville is the precinct other communities wish they had.
The Leederville Hotel was constructed in 1897. It’s early owners were James Stewart Bennet, a Leederville Agent, Perth Grocer, George Hunter Snowball, Northam Hotelkeeper Michael Cody, Developer Thomas George Molloy, and John Patrick Walsh.
In 1898 the licensee was Charles H. Winter, who was also the licensee from 1901 to 1905. In 1914, the hotel was purchased by the Swan Brewery Company Limited.
In 1930 the hotel was listed in Wise’s Post Office Directories as 242 Carr Street and the licensee was J.J. Prendergast. He was an accountant who later ran the Oxford Hotel at 368 Oxford Street on the corner of Anzac Road, Mount Hawthorn.
In 1949 it was purchased by E.C. (Mick) Caddy, a very colourful and popular personality. The Caddy family lived on the premises, as had the Prendergasts, and their son Haldane used the tower as a play room. No changes were made to the fabric of the hotel during the Caddy’s tenure but the area where Hal played cricket and tennis alongside the Hotel was later incorporated as part of the building.
The Leederville Hotel was a popular venue for the football crowds, being only a minute’s walk from the Leederville Oval, the home of the West Perth Football Club until 1994. In the early days there were no bar facilities at the oval and this led to half-time and much longer post game drinking session in the public bar.
In 1953, West Perth’s new playing coach arrived from Melbourne and lived at the Hotel for 18 months until other accommodation was found for him. Other long-term residents included a Bank Manager and at some time the tower was occupied by an artist who drowned himself in a tub in the room, leading to the claim that the tower is haunted. Various alterations have been carried out to the hotel over the years as licensing and social requirements have changed.
In 1971, the area behind the building, fronting Vincent Street and originally the site of single residential housing, was acquired and later developed as a car park and drive-in bottle shop.
From 1989 to 1993, the hotel was owned by the Willoughby family of Kalgoorlie. More recent alterations have opened up the first floor areas to provide added space for entertainment.
In 2008 the hotel had five function areas, nine bars (five open-air and four indoor), a large undercover outdoor area and a number of mega screens showing all sports including international events. There were six main areas available for functions include the Con Bar (1,600 people) and the Band Room (400 people).
In 2010, The Garden opened to become one of Perth’s most iconic hospitality destinations, followed by the closure of the former ‘Seedy Leedy’ party place in 2012, Bill’s Bar and Bites popped up in its place and has continued to serve the local community well.
In 2021, The Leederville Precinct will evolve once more.